Band members and biography
back to main
Jouni Nikula
Arto Raisala
Pasi Kauppinen
Jukka Hanninen
Jari Huttunen

The early days

Requiem, the Finnish melodic metal band, started as a death-metal trio in 1999. The band was founded in Haapajärvi, Finland, by Arto Räisälä, guitar. Requiem made two demos, Gods of War (1999) and Into the Night (2000), before signing the record deal with Sound Riot Records from Portugal in 2001. Arto and Jari Huttunen, who replaced Rami Repola on drums soon after Gods of War, are the only original Requiem members left in the band nowadays.

Jouni Nikula, vocals, joined Requiem in the late summer of 2000. The band played some gigs with the new line up and one special night was being filmed by three cameras. Also the vocal parts for Into the Night demo were re-recorded.

The early Requiem in 2000. The line up for Into the Night demo. From the left: Teemu Hänninen (guitar), Matti Auvinen (bass, vocals), Ahti Komu (keyboards), Jari Huttunen (drums) and Arto Räisälä (guitar).

Jouni Nikula, vocals, (second from the right) joined Requiem in the late summer 2000. When the picture was taken, the band was looking for a new keyboard player.

Into the Stage live video is a rarity these days.
The first two albums

Requiem´s plan in early 2001 was to make a demo to find a record label. The songs planned for the demo were Broken Alliance (then it was called Tower of Shadows), Whispers and Invisible Touch. Anyway, the demo was never made, because Sound Riot Records contacted the band in the spring, just a few weeks before it was time to go to the studio. The next summer was a period of major changes in Requiem´s line up. The band asked Henrik Klingenberg to play the keyboards for the first album. At the same time the original bass player Matti Auvinen was replaced by Pasi Kauppinen. Line up for Requiem´s two first albums, The Arrival (2002) and Mask of Damnation (2003), was found.

The first picture (in the late summer 2001) of the line up for the first two albums. Henrik Klingenberg (keyboards) and Pasi Kauppinen (bass) on the left.  The Arrival of Requiem. From the left: Teemu Hänninen, Jari Huttunen, Henrik Klingenberg, Arto Räisälä, Jouni Nikula and Pasi Kauppinen.

The Arrival, 2002

Requiem´s debut, The Arrival, was recorded in late 2001. The fresh arrangements, hypermelodic and powerfull songs reached a great feedback around the world. Requiem was hailed in many places as the newcomer of the year. The Arrival reached quickly top-three in the chart of Japanese import metal albums. Below Requiem were bands such as Manowar, Dio and Helloween. Later on that year the album was licenced to Japan by Soundholic with a bonus track called Tomorrow´s Dream. This is what Sound Riot Records has to say about Requiem on their website: ”The things started to change to us in 2002, principally after the release of the REQUIEM album that got an excellent feedback in many places”.

The Arrival, 2002
Requiem´s first interview in famous Burrn! magazine from Japan. Requiem before the opening show for Sonata Arctica in Lutakko, Jyväskylä, Finland in the winter 2002.  Requiem´s first music video was made for Broken Alliance in the summer 2002.


Mask of Damnation, 2003

Requiem´s second album, Mask of Damnation, was a long-awaited descendant for the succesfull debut album. Mask of Damnation was recorded in the summer of 2003. Eight songs introduced Requiem to the world even more progressive than on The Arrival. Requiem´s musical "crazyness" was taken to the top. After the recording sessions Henrik Klingenberg was forced to leave the band. He was just too damn busy with his new job on Sonata Arctica.

Mask of Damnation, 2003. 
See the different covers in Europe 
and Japan. 

Requiem in Mask of Damnation promo shoot. Requiem in Burrn! after the release of Mask of Damnation.  Jouni before the Requiem poster at Seinäjoki, Finland, early 2004. The first gig with Jukka Hänninen on keyboards. 

Requiem Forever, 2005.

Requiem started to look for a new record label in the autumn of 2003. On the following winter Jukka Hänninen joined Requiem as the new keyboard player. The negotiations with more than five different labels took over an year, even two demos were recorded. Eventually Requiem decided to join Scarlet Records from Italy. The recordings of the third album, Requiem Forever, started quickly after the names were in the contract. Teemu Hänninen, second guitar since the demo Into the Night, was forced to leave the band before the third album was finished. 

Requiem Forever, 2005. 

Jukka Hänninen (keyboards) knows how to rock. The picture is from the gig at Haapajärvi, Finland, after Requiem Forever was finished. 

Requiem Forever is musically pure Requiem: melodic and powerfull with a revolutionary songwriting. The band is also more mature and solid than before. The last song on Requiem Forever is re-recorded version of Gods of War, which was originally released on the first demo back in 1999. But who could imagine a better ending for such an album as Requiem Forever. ”Thousands of miles behind and thousands more to go…” (Gods of War)

See the bird in the sky. The promo shoot took place a day after Teemu Hänninen was out of the band. From the left: Jukka Hänninen, Jari Huttunen, Jouni Nikula, Arto Räisälä and Pasi Kauppinen.

back to top